Lemon Chicken, revamped

This is the first recipe I ever really made. I’m so proud of it.

I was only allowed to cook chicken at my parents’ house (my mom didn’t want me wasting the good meats, haha) so I had to be pretty creative in making chicken interesting, especially since I was basically cooking chicken every night for my dad and I.

In comes this lemon chicken! It’s so good, and you know why? You flour the chicken, let it cook in butter, glaze it in the lemon-honey-butter mixture and it turns into this:

IMG_3392 (2)

YES!!!!!

 

Sorry, I had a moment.

But it’s so flipping good, and so easy I can do it with my eyes closed. Then again I’ve had ten years of practice…

 

Honey Lemon Chicken

Makes 4 servings

Prep: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 1 hour

IMG_3390 (2)

3 tbsp butter

4 chicken quarters

1 cup flour

1 tbsp salt

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp paprika

 

Honey Lemon Glaze:

Juice of one lemon

1/4 cup honey

6 tbsp butter (yes, 6)

1 tbsp soy sauce

1/2 tsp ground ginger

 

  1. In a 9×13 oven-safe pan, melt the 3 tbsp butter in the oven while it’s preheating to 400 degrees F.
  2. Mix flour and spices together in a shallow dish or plastic bag, then dredge the chicken quarters in the flour.
  3. Take out the pan with the melted butter, then place chicken quarters skin side down into the butter. Cook in oven for thirty minutes.
  4. Before the 30-minute mark, put all glaze ingredients into a microwave safe dish. Heat in microwave for one minute.
  5. At thirty minutes, flip the quarters over in the pan. Brush (or spoon) glaze over the chicken every 10 minutes for 30-40 minutes, until deliciously browned and bubbly.

IMG_3397 (2)

Eat!

2 thoughts on “Lemon Chicken, revamped

Leave a Reply

